Tribhuvan University – Institute of  Science and Technology – Central Department of Environmental Science

Central Department of Environmental Science (CDES) was established in 2001 under the aegis of Institute of Science and Technology, Tribhuvan University (IOST-TU) with an objective to produce technically sound and competent human resource in the field of Environ  mental Science and Technology. CDES offers Master of Science (MSc) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) programs in Environmental Science. CDES also works with various national and international development partners, research institutions and universities with the aim of continuous exchange of knowledge, skill and experience in the field of Environmental Science and Technology.

 Resources Himalaya Foundation (RHF)

Resources Himalaya Foundation (RHF) was founded under the leadership of the late Dr. Pralad Yonzon as a non-governmental, non-profit organization. It was established as Resources Nepal, a self-governing private organization in 1986. It became an independent, not-for-profit research foundation managed by a Governing Board and administered by its Executive office since 2004. RHF competitive edge over others is its ability to deal with contemporary knowledge and issues connected with nature conservation. This is substantiated by the fact that RHF was one of the eight recipients of the 2007 MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions, selected from several NGOs from six continents. RHF focuses on three areas – innovative research and policy analysis, mentoring and capacity building of younger generation, and creating a platform for knowledge management and dissemination. RHF programs with cross-cutting themes use quantitative biology and social science tools to triangulate livelihood and related issues connected with biodiversity conservation and climate change.

Institute for Social and Environmental Transition-Nepal (ISET-Nepal)

ISET-Nepal is a research-oriented organization that conducts inter-disciplinary research and engages in policy dialogues. It was established in 2001, a time when significant social, environmental, and political change processes, along climate change impacts, were emerging as major threats across the globe, including in Nepal. Since then, the ISET-Nepal has examined these social and environmental challenges with the aim of building a society capable of addressing such challenges through improved knowledge and capacities. In addition to conducting interdisciplinary research, ISET-Nepal holds interactions on crosscutting issues involving the environment, water, technology, politics, and society with a wide spectrum of the Nepali society as well as with global actors. ISET-Nepal produces high-quality evidence-based knowledge products in order to inform and influence existing policies and practices. Furthermore, ISET-Nepal supports education as well as training to enhance capacity of young professionals. It supports youths to come up with innovative solutions to emerging challenges. The organization also collaborates and partners with diverse national and international academicians, researchers and organizations.

Far Western University

Far Western University (FWU) was established in 2010 by the Act of the Parliament as a government funded national university to function as a prime academic institution in the country in terms of academic excellence, research-based education, community engagement and partnership.

The central office of the university is located at Bhimdatta Municipality of Kanchanpur district, Far West Province, Nepal. The strategic location of the University Central Campus and its constituent campuses at the Far West Province gives an access to local people to higher education and provides an opportunity for the overall development of the region.

Mid-West University

Mid-West University (MU) is an autonomous and public institution of higher learning with the mission to serve the people of Nepal and enrich the global learning community by extending the advantages of higher education. Established by the Government of Nepal with a Parliament Act on June 17, 2010 A. D

Lumbini Buddhist University (LBU)

Lumbini Buddhist University (LBU) from the sacred birth place of Lord Gautam Buddha, Lumbini, the fountain of World Peace, is an autonomous and public institution of higher learning committed with the mission to educate the People of Nepal and enrich the global learning community through the application of core Buddhist values and promote the World Peace from Nepal.

Agriculture and Forestry University (AFU)

The Agriculture and Forestry University (AFU) was established in Rampur, Chitwan, Nepal in 2010 which is the first technical university in the country. The university aims at producing highly skilled human resources required to work on quality research and development in agriculture. It aims at all round development of agriculture, livestock, aquaculture and forestry which would raise the socio-economic conditions of rural people through quality teaching, research and extension. The mission of Agriculture and Forestry University is to produce competent manpower to promote education, research and development in agriculture, veterinary, fisheries, forestry and allied disciplines.

Kathmandu University (KU)

Kathmandu University (KU) is an autonomous, not-for-profit, self-funding public institution established by an Act of Parliament in December 1991. It is an institution of higher learning dedicated to maintaining the standard of academic excellence in various classical and professional disciplines.

Conference Details

Conference Date: April 4 – 5, 2024

Venue: Central Department of Environmental Science
Institute of Science and Technology
Tribhuvan University
Kirtipur, Kathmandu

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline: Falgun 27, 2080
Selection and notification: Falgun 29, 2080
Registration deadline: Chaitra 2, 2080
Orientation workshop: Chaitra 7, 2080
Poster and PowerPoint presentation submission: Chaitra 17, 2080